How To Add At Least 33% To Your Top Line Without Doing Any New Marketing Activities

Sales at Scale; Copywriting

Whether it’s on your product page, the words you say in a video ad, an Instagram reel script and caption, a PR headline, or whatever it is - the copy has the biggest impact in selling your product or service, selling a click, selling a reason to keep watching. 

The words you use to get attention and persuade your ideal customer have a crucial impact on your marketing and sales success. 

If the copy sucks, your sales suffer. 

Attention comes before consumption, consumption comes before conversion. This is why copy is so important. No one buys before they consume the content that helps inform a buying decision. No one consumes the content if you don’t first capture their attention.

Copy is the common thread in all your marketing and so much hinges on the quality of your copy. 

How To Increase Sales Without Doing More Social Media, Running Ads, Or Dancing On Tiktok

If your conversions are low, your copy is a no-go. Low is less than 2% for your e-commerce channel, for products/offers with an AOV of up to $100. 


If your conversion rate goes up, so does your revenue. If you try to bring in new customers with a low conversion rate, your revenue will grow but you are still leaving so much money on the table, which is why this is the first stop and should be a constant focus in your business. In the business I work for, I am continually testing and optimising product copy, wholesale page copy, opt-in offer copy, you name it. I am always looking at ways to improve the conversion rate, this is the bottom of the funnel. It’s like trying to plug holes in a leaky bucket so that it can retain more water that is put into it. The less traffic we have leaking out, the more effective all efforts to grow are going to be. 


We can convert more of your current traffic by making your products and offers undeniable. Optimising the copy for your products and/or services is a great way to achieve this. 


Side note: There are other ways to increase conversion rates. Another method (one that isn’t off the table for the services I provide) is reviewing all aspects of your product offers, pricing etc - any element that contributes to increasing conversions and revenue, we’ll look at it. 


In fact, reviewing your pricing and looking at ways to strategically increase prices is a quick way to increase sales - new revenue that can be reinvested into more growth activity. 

This is how you make massive improvements to your top line, and you can do it before you even work on your traffic. Micro improvements to CRO are compounded when traffic is increased.

Let's say your e-comm channel is doing $500K in revenue with a conversion rate of 3% - if we increase that to 4% we are adding 33% to your topline. That’s an increase of over $150K to your top line all because the words on your product page made your products more desirable to your customers.

How do you get started improving the copy on your website? There are a wealth of amazing books, podcasts and the like on copywriting. One good book to get you started is “How to Write Copy That Sells” by Ray Edwards. His PASTOR framework details amazing building blocks for world-class copy. 

I bet you’re a bit like me in the sense that you like to do the things you are passionate about. If you don’t love writing words so good they could sell hair products to Patrick Stewart, then you should outsource this to someone who spent 15 minutes trying to think of the perfect metaphor.

If you're looking for a quick win that doesn’t require extensive copywriting, social proof is an incredibly powerful way to boost conversions. Testimonials and product reviews—whether on your product page, Google reviews strategically placed across your website, or even featured in your content—are excellent tools for this. For instance, we've created reels showcasing Google reviews for our social feeds, and they’ve proven highly effective.

Social proof, such as testimonials, acts as persuasive copywriting on its own, building trust and encouraging potential customers to make a purchase. If you're using Shopify, there are plenty of third-party apps that make it easy to invite customers to leave reviews and display them directly on your product pages. This simple addition can have a substantial impact on your conversion rates.

There are so many other CRO tactics out there but if people aren't sucked into consuming your product and service pages as if they are a wormhole consuming gravity, then the additional CRO tactics are not as effective. 

That’s not to say you shouldn’t also engage in upselling, cross-selling, free shipping incentives, etc. You’ve got to start by moving the needle as much as and as quickly as possible to bring in more revenue with your existing traffic. A benefit that is compounded when you hit your sales pages with a fire hose of new traffic.

If you implement this one tactic alone, you can have a drastic impact on your revenue. But reading, we can increase sales and revenue by increasing LTV.

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